farmfreshmenu

Menu for Week of October 16th

In Menu on October 16, 2011 at 10:16 pm

This week is all sorts of crazy. Firstly, on Thursday right after work and school, we’re flying down to visit Boy’s parents in Southern California. So, this week is cut way short! Unfortunately, the TSA won’t let us bring our mounds of veggies on the plane to cook while we’re there, so I suppose we’ll just have to figure something else out. (Boy’s parents are great cooks, so I’m sure our tummys will be happy!) Secondly, Boy had to work today (boo!) so I was left without my trusty sidekick. I suppose if this was the other way around and Boy was planning by himself, we probably would end up with a menu with bacon every single night. I’m not sure if thats a bad thing or not… I’ll let you decide.

OH! And today was also super funky! I arrived at the Farmers Market as usual, but parking was horrible! Finally, I found a spot and went on it. But I didn’t see any vegetables. I saw funnel cake, and corn dogs, and weird booths set up with face painting, stuffed animals, carnival rides and a Hooters booth?? Apparently, downtown Campbell has Oktoberfest during the time Farmers Market usually is, so I couldn’t get any fresh vegetables this week. Bummer. So, I went to the next best thing – Trader Joes! (I know, I should have found some sort of co-op or what not, but honestly, I didn’t feel inspired to look for one…)

Well given the circumstance, here is what I’ve come up with:

Sunday – I have bacon on the mind, so I think that should be incorporated tonight…
Blue-Cheese-Bacon-Butter on Steaks served with Brussels Sprouts (Boy’s mom’s recipe… they’re delicious!)

Monday – Broccoli Parmesan Mac n’ Cheese (recipe torn out of Sunset Magazine)

Tuesday – Breaded Halibut and Steamed Green Beans

Wednesday – Chunky Butternut Squash Soup. The TraderJoe’s boxed soup is a great starting point, we’ll be adding in chunks of butternut squash and spices!

Should be a delicious week! I hope Boy approves. But honestly, how could I go wrong? Bacon? Check! Cheese? Check!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

